myfavoritethingsintheworld











{5 september 2011}   Being Creative

When I was a little girl, I always loved being creative: drawing, coloring and so on. I had a whole collection of pencils, crayons, chalk crayons, paint, paper, iron beads, cardboard, scissors and coloring books. A day without making something creative, one day not lived was my motto.

As I grew older and went to high school, I stoped with being creative. Until I read something in a magazine about making jewelry with beads. A new hobby was born!

I bought boxes full of beads. In all imaginable colors of the rainbow. And more. Small beads, large beads, round beads, octagonal beads, beads in the shape of hearts, flowers and animals. You name it, I had it. Also I had a drawer full of all kinds of wear, scissors, pliers and locks. And do not forget the books and magazines that I regularly bought from for inspiration. The years passed and I had made plenty of bracelets and necklaces for myself, family and friends. I had a bit of an overdose of beads and everything had disappeared into the attic.

It was clearly time for a new creative hobby. It was scrap booking. Still I have enjoy scrap booing after all those years. Meanwhile, we are a couple of years feather another few creative hobbies added: envelopes and stationery decorated with stamped and decorative tape and making (Christmas) cards. And the beads? They aren’t in the attic anymore!



et cetera