myfavoritethingsintheworld











{19 juli 2011}   Collecting stamps

 Thanks to Postcrossing I receive many beautiful cards with the most special and beautiful stamps. It was a real eye-opener for a collecter like me! I never thought about collecting stamps, because I only knew the dull Dutch stamps with the queen on it, with a bicycle with the globe as a wheel or the globe in the shape of a heart. Through the Postcrossing forum I found out that you can old guilder (gulden) stamps on the internet. So I went to that website and bought some old stamps. I got a bag with the most amazing stamps! With art, kids stamps, with animals. You name it and it’s on a stamp! Why don’t we have such nice stamps for outside the Netherlands. I often find it a shame to use those beautiful stamps!

But back to collecting. I think it’s a sin to cut of the stamps of the cards and even from the envelops. Luckily for me, I occasionally get some stamps from friends. I’m always very happy when I receive a bag with stamps. Especially those with Moomin on it or fashion-related. Also I love stamps with art on it. I even have a book about it: Art! Paintings from the 17th century on Dutch stamps. It’s a great book with two sheets of stamps and information on the artwork itself.



Plaats een reactie

et cetera